quarta-feira, 14 de setembro de 2011

Jo Jones and Milt Hinton – Percussions and Bass 1960

Jo Jones perc. & Milt Hinton bass

1. Tam 2:02

2. Me And You 2:25

3. Coffee Dan 2:52

4. The Love Nest 4:34

5. H.O.T. (Helen Of Troy) 3:13
6. Shoes On The Ruffs 2:52

7. The Walls Fall 2:35

8. Blue Skies 2:33

9. Late In The Evening 2:21

10. Ocho Puertas 2:55
11. Tin Top Alley Blues 3:01

12. Little Honey 2:34



Jo Jones and Milt Hinton were two musicians who could raise the level of playing in any rhythm section they were a part of this historical curiosity, originally recorded for Everest, featues just the two of them exploring the rhythmic possibilities within a dozen numbers. Jones’ brushwork is matchless as usual, while Hinton’s considerable technique is also apparent. The highlight of this rather brief date is “The Walls Fall,” a fascinating reworking of the old spiritual “Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho.” While the playing time is brief at just 34 minutes, it’s great to hear two masters at work.

Thanks to Raz - Jazz Is My Life :-)

terça-feira, 6 de setembro de 2011

Buster Williams - Crystal Reflections 1976

Muse LP, 1976

1. prism
2. the enchanted flower
3. i love you
4. i dream too much
5. vibrations
6. my funny valentine

Buster Williams (synthesizer, bass); Suzanne Klewan (vocals); Roy Ayers (vibraphone, Arp string ensemble);
Kenny Barron (acoustic & electric pianos); Jimmy Rowles (acoustic piano); Billy Hart (drums); Nobu Urushiyama (percussion)

Recorded at Generation Sound Studios, New York, New York on August 30, 1976.