quarta-feira, 26 de outubro de 2011

Dominic Duval & Jimmy Halperin - Monk Dreams 2005

Dominic Duval - bass
Jimmy Halperin - tenor and soprano saxophones

1. Brilliant Corners (5'38)
2. Off Minor (3'50)
3. Epistrophy (7'08)
4. Monk's Dream (7'34)
5. Trinkle, Tinkle (4'28)
6. Evidence (5'18)
7. Bye-Ya (4'38)
8. Criss Cross (4'07)
9. Blue Monk (4'44)
10. Ruby, My Dear (6'09)
11. Brilliant Corners (Alternative) 5'38

Notes by Stuart Broomer, All About Jazz
All Compositions by Thelonious Monk, arranged by Dominic Duval and Jimmy Halperin
2009 NoBusiness Records NBCD 2
Edition of 1000 CD's
Recorded December 5, 2005

rapidshare pt 1 - pt 2 - pt 3

There's something almost contradictory about Monk compositions: they're insistently individualistic, built on odd chord changes with often minimalist melodies. But as idiosyncratic as they are, they often succeed in bringing out what's best in the musicians playing them, as if those tunes are open to individuality as well as being the product of it. Through the years musicians of wildly divergent styles have approached Monk's music: the piquant Steve Lacy, exuberant Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, amiably bombastic Misha Mengelberg and magisterial Coleman Hawkins. These two trips into the Monk canon may not produce results as distinctive as any of those but they're solid efforts possessed of substantial personality...

…The duo of saxophonist Jimmy Halperin and bassist Dominic Duval let you know right away what side of Monk they're most interested in, opening and closing with "Brilliant Corners," perhaps the most 'angular' and abrasive of Monk's compositions. Halperin and Duval take it in stride—well, make that tense stride. Halperin really leans into this music, creating swirling patterns on "Off Minor," "Blue Monk" and "Monk's Dream" that gives them a very different feel from the usual accounts. Duval provides solid support, articulating the themes with characteristic ease. The duo enjoys consistent communication, creating a fine three-way dialogue with Monk's compositions. Halperin's exploratory edge is evident throughout. The duo released a similar CD of Monk tunes a couple of years ago, called Monkinus, on CIMP. Monk Dreams isn't a sequel. It was actually recorded earlier and includes many of the same tunes. It's a good date, however, interesting in itself as well as a complement to the later recording.

Thanks to s.e.l.i.m

sexta-feira, 14 de outubro de 2011

Eddie Gomez e Carlos Franzetti : Duets

Eddie Gomez & Carlos Franzetti : Duets

1. Ana Maria (W. Shorter)
2. If You Could See Me Now (Tad Dameron)
3. Pensativa (Fischer)
4. Love Letter (Eddie Gomez)
5. Flowers (Fernando Gelbard)
6. Sometime Ago (Mihanovich)
7. Arabesque (Carlos Franzetti)
8. Fantasia (Carlos Franzetti)
9. Moon And Sand.(Alec Wilder)


terça-feira, 11 de outubro de 2011

Charlie Haden & Christian Escoude - Gitane (1979)

Recorded at Studio Des Champs-Elysees, Paris, France on September 22, 1978.

Charlie Haden acoustic bass
Christian Escoude acoustic guitar

1. Django

2. Bolero

3. Manoir de mes reves

4. Gitane
5. Nuages
6. Dinette

7. Improvisation

All songs written by D. Reinhardt except "Django" (John Lewis) and "Gitane" (Charlie Haden).



segunda-feira, 3 de outubro de 2011

Behringer Metodo de bajo

PDF | Español | 2Mb

(Uploading) - (Uploadbox)

Ray Brown - Some Of My Best Friends Are...

Ray Brown - Some Of My Best Friends Are... The Trumpet Players [Discover Jazz Series]
Telarc  83495 | CD | NEW | USA
Released 2000 | Recorded

Ray Brown - bass
Geoff Keezer - piano
Karriem Riggins - drums

1. Our Delight - (with Roy Hargrove)
2. Bag's Groove - (with Jon Faddis)
3. I Thought About You - (with James Morrison)
4. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You - (with Terence Blanchard)
5. Violets For Your Furs - (with Nicholas Payton)
6. Itty Bitty Blues - (with Clark Terry)
7. Stairway To The Stars - (with Roy Hargrove)
8. Original Jones - (with Jon Faddis)
9. When You Go - (with James Morrison)
10. The Kicker - (with Nicholas Payton)
11. Clark's Tune (Legacy) - (with Clark Terry)
12. Goodbye - (with Terence Blanchard)

download Lossless
Filesonic.com :  12
Bitshare.com :   12

domingo, 2 de outubro de 2011

Miroslav Vitous - Magical Shepherd 1976

 It was originally issued on LP in 1976 on Warner Brothers. Wounded Bird. 2003.

Recorded at Wally Heider Recording Studios and Funky Features, San Francisco, California.

Personnel: Miroslav Vitous (guitar, Fender Rhodes piano, synthesizer, guitar synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer); Onike, Cheryl Grainger (vocals); Herbie Hancock (electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet, keyboards, synthesizer, string synthesizer); Jack DeJohnette, James Gadson (drums); Airto Moreira (percussion).

1. Basic Laws
2. New York City
3. Synthesizers Dance
4. Magical Shepherd
5. From Far Away
6. Aim Your Eye


1 Obrigado especial a L. - elemento musical