quinta-feira, 5 de agosto de 2010

Sam Jones "Down Home" 1962

1 Unit 7 (Jones) 4:49
2 Come Rain or Come Shine (Arlen, Mercer) 4:05
3 'Round Midnight (Hanighen, Monk, Williams) 5:31
4 O.P. (Jones) 5:07
5 Thumbstring (Brown) 4:31
6 Down Home (Jones) 4:08
7 Strollin' (Silver) 4:12
8 Falling in Love With Love (Hart, Rodgers) 7:03

Feat. Blue Mitchell, Calrk Terry, Jimmy Cleveland, Frank Strozier, Jimmy Heath, Les Spann, Joe Zawinul, Wynton Kelly, Ron Carter, Israel Crosby, Ben Riley, Vernel Fournier...

Recorded at Plaza Sound Studios, NYC on June 25, 1962 (#3, 4, 6, 8) and August 16, 1962 (other selections).

flac, with all covers :: part 1 - part 2

Bassist Sam Jones, always best known for being a sideman (most notably with Cannonball Adderley's Quintet), recorded three superior Riverside albums as a leader during 1960-62 that have all been reissued on CD in the OJC series. This particular one, the third, features Jones on bass and cello in several settings. Four selections (including Horace Silver's "Strollin'" and "Unit Seven") are with an all star nonet/tentet while four others showcase Jones's cello in quintets with either Les Spann or Frank Strozier on flute and Israel Crosby or Ron Carter on bass.

1 comentário:

  1. http://rapidshare.com/files/174913031/Sam_..._-_Down_Home.7z